RSS Feed

Viral Slippers

Following on from the huge high of the previous post, a few days later I received an email that would burst our bubble.

I wasn’t accepted to transfer my degree to the place I thought I had the best chance. At the beginning of the week we were certain of our move east side but this put the spanner works.  I am still waiting of notification from another school so the fingers are still crossed.

Otherwise I am readily available to work in a wool shop

At the same time I was completing an order for my crochet page that you can see here. It was a slog to work out how to do them justice but after crocheting followed by unravelling to nearly the start to trying again. I have notes but they make no sense to me anymore :-D

image

Soon, I will be making another pair just so that I can write it out step by step, maybe with pictures…

I was still a bit disappointed about our plans potentially being derailed but I finished the order.  I seriously fell in love with them.

After posting the photograph of the adult slippers, it went viral.  In a few days the photo had reached 2,100 people!  What a tonic to pull a person out of the doldrums.

Since the photo was posted I have had various orders for baby slippers to match the adult ones.  Which you will see here.

image

image

From here, I wonder if there will be a call for crochet Jimmy Choo slippers ;)

About tulipandthistlecrochet

A Scot (thistle) married to a Dutch man (tulip) and two children (shamrocks) living in Ireland and 2 French Bulldogs (Fleur de Lis). Discovered crochet last year, love it. Enjoys baking cooking, going for walks with the family. Degree on hold and moving back to the city after "doing rural" the last 8 years.

2 responses »

  1. They are so cute! So sorry about the plans but I’m sure things will work out.

    Reply
    • tulipandthistlecrochet

      Thank you very much Val!
      I try and live by the motto “What is for me, won’t go by me” :)

      THank you for popping by :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Burlesque Chef

Ethna Cooks Everything - Lets make food Sexy!

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

PopWatch

Entertainment Weekly's PopWatch Blog

whittymomma

The many adventures of a mom with crochet hooks, a sander and shovel.

Ireland's Technology Blog

EVERYTHING TECHNOLOGY, MOBILE, TV, INTERNET AND MORE

Magnumlady's Blog

Photos and life in general

the loopy home...

...because beige is boring

Tulip and Thistle Crochet

With wee shamrocks & fleur-de-lis in the mix

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

BabyCalm - Surviving the Fourth Trimester

Calmer Babies and Happier Parents

Advice From Nashville

A Hipster's Perspective

Ma Twitter Photies

Third incarnation, seeing as Posterous is shutting down.

kristinskrazyknits

A dork and her yarn, who could ask for more?

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 548 other followers

