RSS Feed

Making tablet

Tablet, of the sweet variety is said to come from Scotland.

It is similar to fudge in colour but has a hard, crumbly, melt in your mouth texture.

Tonight I made a batch for biggest shamrock’s school to sell at the jumble sale.
Since a few people asked for the recipe, I thought I would write it here.

Edited to add photos and tweak.the instructions.

So, you will need ;

a HUGE heavy based pan. Non stick won’t be good for this.
A long handled wooden spoon.
A glass of water
Teaspoon
A plate to rest your spoon. This will also help you gauge the difference in colour.
A buttered large shallow baking tray.

INGREDIENTS

1kg granulated sugar
100g butter
Tin of condensed milk (397g) I prefer to use Farmlea or Aldi version.
A cup of milk.
Vanilla (optional)

METHOD

Pour the sugar into the pan, add the milk, stir until it starts to melt, add butter over medium heat, keep stirring until the granules have melted.
Slowly bring to the boil then pour in the condensed milk.  Raise the temperature and bring to the boil. Stirring all the time.

image

 

BEWARE this mixture is extremely hot so please be careful when stirring.

 

image

image

The plate shows how the colour begins to change.

image

Still stirring the mixture, reduce the heat until the tablet simmers gently.

Stir continuously.

image

Test the mixture by scooping some mixture out of the pot and putting it in the glass of water. When the mixture makes a sort of ball shape (I tried to show it in the above photo).

Now that the mixture is ready, here is the part where you can earn an extra piece of tablet.

Take the pan off the heat. Using the long handled wooden spoon, you need to beat the mixture with pure muscle.

Please be careful for splashes.

You need to beat until the mixture is smooth, approximately 10-15 minutes.

image

Now quickly pour the mixture into the buttered baking tray.

image

I can’t pour mine in the one go due to the weight of the pot and my height so try and get someone to help with this part.

Let the tablet cool for about 20 minutes and cut your portions already. This will ensure nice clean cuts…. Unless you would like the “rustic” effect ;-)

image

image

image

A few ways that I have presented the tablet

image

image

image

image

I quickly ccrocheted two wee pouches to hold the tablet for Christmas gifts.

For reference, the varying colours of the making of tablet

image

The author takes no responsibility for burns, weight gain or health issues,arising from this delicious sweetie ;-)

About tulipandthistlecrochet

A Scot (thistle) married to a Dutch man (tulip) and two children (shamrocks) living in Ireland and 2 French Bulldogs (Fleur de Lis). Discovered crochet last year, love it. Enjoys baking cooking, going for walks with the family. Degree on hold and moving back to the city after "doing rural" the last 8 years.

4 responses »

  1. Hello there! I blog anonymously – but I’m sure you can figure out who I am! I’m a bit slow, didn’t realise you were on WP. Been here two years this month! I just know you’ll love it like I do :)

    Reply
    • tulipandthistlecrochet

      Hi!!!
      I am still finding my feet but I find it quite addictive already.
      I see a lot of blog potential in my world :-D

      Reply
      • I hope it goes well! I think people do better when they have a theme – I just talk random nonsense. :) I found a few people by searching for tags with similar interests. And always leave a comment! I ignore most people who just ‘like and leave.’

      • tulipandthistlecrochet

        If my crochet orders dry up then I will be able to familiarise myself with the blog world. I am still a bit of a mix (in more ways than one) :-D

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Burlesque Chef

Ethna Cooks Everything - Lets make food Sexy!

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

PopWatch

Entertainment Weekly's PopWatch Blog

whittymomma

The many adventures of a mom with crochet hooks, a sander and shovel.

Ireland's Technology Blog

EVERYTHING TECHNOLOGY, MOBILE, TV, INTERNET AND MORE

Magnumlady's Blog

Photos and life in general

the loopy home...

...because beige is boring

Tulip and Thistle Crochet

With wee shamrocks & fleur-de-lis in the mix

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

BabyCalm - Surviving the Fourth Trimester

Calmer Babies and Happier Parents

Advice From Nashville

A Hipster's Perspective

Ma Twitter Photies

Third incarnation, seeing as Posterous is shutting down.

kristinskrazyknits

A dork and her yarn, who could ask for more?

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

